.
Ray  Rider   Hat   Rodeo   Dan   Roping   Livestock   cowboy

About Ray


I was born in 1968 in Newfoundland which is on the far eastern coast of Canada but now live in Dallas Texas.  How did I get here?  Well, moved to Vancouver, British Columbia on the West Coast of Canada, then Seattle, then Pennsylvania, back to Vancouver and then to Dallas in the summer of 2002.  Whew!  A lot of moving!

I'm about 5'7" (I used to think I was 5'8" but then someone measured me and said I was shorter -  Am I shrinking or just deluded?), 160lbs and workout regularly.  I'm not a gym fanatic but it's pretty important for me to be in shape. I work in high tech and love my job, but I've got a wide variety of interests that include singing, horses and rodeo. Photography has re-emerged as a major interest for me lately so I'm getting heavily into that hobby now.

I grew up in a small city of 180,000 but every weekend my folks and I would go out to the country, to "the land" as we called our 10 acre parcel.  And so I got the best of both worlds but was always happy to get back to the urban landscape.  Now I'm more attracted to the country lifestyle but still like the city to be not too far away.....

Newfoundland & Labrador

 

 

 

British Columbia



  Here's a few pictures of me in my standard western duds. The pictures later in the series were taken in my friend's Pennsylvania barn. What a place, it's a turn of the century (19th, not 20th!) old stone house and barn, very old and classic. Some of the pictures turned out great, particularly the one of Petey (a Jack Russell Terrier) and me leaning up against the red barn, that one is my favourite.

At some point I might want to settle in the country a bit outside an urban center (or not) and have a horse, dog, some alpacas, pygmy goats and a few Araucana chickens. Perhaps not in Texas though as it's pretty darned hot here plus too many nasty poisonous critters than you can count.

Vancouver wasn't much of a dating kind of place for me as the types I wanted to meet just didn't seem to be there. Since moving to Texas, I'm pleased to say that's changed!

 

 

I've traveled a fair bit and am interested in the world at large, the picture to the left is from a 2001 dog sledding trip in the arctic.  But my first love is of a cowboy nature.  My interest goes back a long way, to exactly when I can't say, but it really blossomed several years ago.  It all started several years ago when my friend Bob & I would drive around in his truck with country music on, and over time it grew on me.  Then all hell broke loose, I bought my first country CD!  Before long I was two stepping and that really began my interest in the western life style.  Several years ago I began training to sing country and although I love it, it's hard to seriously maintain it and keep a bread-and-butter career going at the same time.

I ride western horseback and have competed in a few rodeo events over the years but various injuries have kept me out of that venue for some time now. I'd like to get into team penning or calf roping at some point.  Based on my current skills, if I roped from a horse, it would be me, the horse, the calf and any bystanders all in one tangled heap of rope.

Vancouver, where I used to live, is a truly beautiful city, one of the nicest I ever lived in but it just wasn't where I wanted to be long term.  For one thing, there is no where to go two-stepping and cowboy-culture is not very well entrenched there, in greater Vancouver anyhow.  People often think of Vancouver as a 'western' city but really it's more appropriate to call it a 'pacific' city.  Dallas has been a much better fit for me so here's to many more years in this fine place.

Thanks to all those that have sent in emails over the last few years, I've gotten some really nice comments (and the occasional bizarre one, I must post these sometime).  One note to my friends and family (you know who you are!), you folks are just the best and I love you, thanks for just being there!